The Des Moines County Board of Supervisors met in regular session at the Court House in Burlington at 9:00 AM on Tuesday, December 31st, 2024, with Chair Tom Broeker, Vice Chair Jim Cary, and Member Shane McCampbell preset. This meeting was also held electronically via Webex and YouTube live streaming. Public input was available through board email or call in.

Des Moines County Elected Official Swearing In Ceremony took place. Judge Wiley swore in County Auditor Sara Doty, County Sheriff Kevin Glendening, County Supervisor Jim Cary, and County Supervisor Shane McCampbell.

Organization of the Board of Supervisors took place. Beginning Jan 1, 2025, Jim Cary will be Chair, Shane McCampbell will be Vice-Chair, and Tom Broeker will be Member. Shane McCampbell made a motion to approve and was seconded by Tom Broeker.

Unless otherwise noted, all motions passed unanimously. The Pledge of Allegiance was conducted.

Meeting with Department Heads: County Auditor Sara Doty announced that she has closed out the 2024 General Election and it is officially complete. She continues to stay busy in her office. IT Director Colin Gerst reported he is busy. Assistant Land Use Administrator Jarred Lassiter reported he is working on a Subdivision that is out for review. He is busy. Safety Director Angela Vaughan wants to remind the public to stay safe on New Years. Conservation Director Chris Lee reports the final Winter Camp is taking place at the Nature Center currently. His staff remains busy. Local Health Director Christa Poggemiller stated they do have flu shots available. County Treasurer Janelle Nalley-Londquist reported with the new HF674 that there will be changes to fees within her office beginning January 1st. Emergency Management Coordinator Shannon Prado reported that cold weather is coming this week so be prepared in your home and vehicle. County Recorder Natalie Steffener reported today is the last day to renew snowmobiles and OHB's without the \$5 penalty. As of January 1st, boats will be renewable. County Attorney Lisa Schaefer reported her office remains busy. There have been two homicides in Burlington recently, that her office is busy with. County Engineer Brian Carter reported his office is preparing for DOT projects that will be coming up. He is also preparing his budget.

No correspondence was received.

Approval of Committee Assignments for 2025 was presented. Cary made a motion to approve and was seconded by McCampbell.

Approval of Official Newspapers for 2025 was presented. The HawkeEye, The Burlington Beacon, Des Moines County News, and Mediapolis News were all approved to be the Official Reporting Newspapers for 2025. McCampbell made a motion to approve and was seconded by Cary.

Payroll Reimbursement Claims in the amount of \$435.71 and Non-Cash Taxable in the amount of \$53.65 were presented. McCampbell made a motion to approve and was seconded by Cary.

Approval of Resolution #2024-056 Appointing Jim Cary to SEIRPC Board of Directors was presented. McCampbell made a motion to approve and was seconded by Broeker.

RESOLUTION #2024-056 Southeast Iowa Regional Planning Commission (SEIRPC) Board of Directors

WHEREAS, the Des Moines County Board of Supervisors has recommended Jim Cary to serve on SEIRPC's Board of Directors, and

WHEREAS, the SEIRPC Board of Directors has reviewed the Des Moines County membership status and is in good standing,

BE IT RESOLVED that Jim Cary is hereby appointed to a one-year term to the SEIRPC Board of Directors, which term will expire on January 1, 2026.

Approved and adopted this 31st day of December 2024.

DES MOINES COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

Tom Broeker, Chair Jim Cary, Vice Chair Shane McCampbell, Member

ATTEST: Sara Doty, Auditor

Approval of Cancelling Outstanding Treasurer's Checks was presented. Cary made a motion to approve and was seconded by McCampbell.

Approval of the appointment of Township Clerks and Trustees was presented. Benton Trustee, Dennis Walker; Danville Trustee, Joel Beck; Franklin Trustee, Nathan Steffener; Huron Clerk, Jeff Hedges, Huron Trustee, Benjamin Thie, Huron Trustee Dustin Siegle; Jackson Trustee, Michael Poggemiller; Pleasant Grove Trustee, Bill Tucker, Pleasant Grove Trustee, Charles Nealey; Tama Trustee, LaVerne Neal; Union Trustee, Robert Wollam, Union Trustee, Dan Hull; Washington Trustee, Carroll Oberman; and Yellow Springs Trustee, Daniel Wirt. McCampbell made a motion to approve and was seconded by Cary.

Personnel Actions – Conservation – Brian Havener, Part Time Tech, 6 month step increase, new rate of \$18.00 hourly effective 1/1/25. McCampbell made a motion to approve and was seconded by Cary. Treasurer – Jennifer Phillips, Clerk II MV Department, 12 month step increase, \$35,894.76 yearly effective 1/2/25. McCampbell made a motion to approve and was seconded by Cary. Correctional Center – Angela Dunham, Correctional Officer, unpaid hours of 51.89. Cary made a motion to approve and was seconded by McCampbell. Local Health – Ronald Lee II, RN, 37.55 unpaid hours for 12/16-12/20. Cary made a motion to approve and was seconded by McCampbell.

McCampbell motioned to approve December 17th, 2024, regular meeting minutes and was seconded by Cary.

Cary motioned to approve the December 19th, 2024, special meeting minutes and was seconded by McCampbell.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:34 a.m.

This Board meeting is recorded. The meeting minutes and audio are posted on the county's website www.dmcounty.com

January 7, 2025

The hand

Date Approved

Chairmai